Sicky McGee!

bigbooks

Omigosh, you guys. I’m so sick.  It’s been a week of hacking cough, sleepless nights, cough drops, and now I have (literally and seriously) no voice left.  Like, I can’t even make a sound.  Only whispers.

Ugh.

BUT — on a bright note, I managed to get through a couple books while I’ve been down for the count. I’m not going to write lengthy things here, but thought I’d check in.

Melissa Gilbert’s memoir, “Prairie Tale,” about her life thanks to Little House on the Prairie, is a wonderful read – there’s celebrity gossip, candid confessions, and enough behind the Hollywood curtain secrets for four books. I devoured it.  Then I read just enough of Russel Brand’s “My Booky-Wook” to know I didn’t need to finish reading it.  I still don’t get his appeal.  Whatever. Then I read “Bread Givers” by Anzia Yezierska, which is a wonderful saga of an Orthodox rabbi and his daughters, all of whom get married off to men they don’t love in the name of tradition, and the youngest daughter who decides she’d rather try and make it on her own.  Superb book!

Excuse me, I’m going to go take some more medicine.

*Cough, cough*

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on October 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

