Three wonderful books…

Short and snappy – It’s summertime outside!

hedgehog“The Elegance of the Hedgehog” by Muriel Barbery

Once in a while a book comes along and effortlessly charms the reader. That’s this book.  It’s the story of a middle-aged concierge and a tween girl who work/live in a fancy French apartment building, and both pretend to be boring and dull when in reality they’re the most vibrant people in the whole place.  One day, a Japanese man moves into the building full of haughty tenants, and things begin to change.  It’s one of the smartest books I’ve ever read, and witty as can be at the same time.  It’s absolutely brilliant and I couldn’t put it down.

madding“Far from the Madding Crowd” by Thomas Hardy

When I began this “read all the books I own and have never read” project, this is exactly what I was hoping for – that somewhere in my collection would be a gem like this, a book I will probably love forever.  The adventures of Bathsheba and her lovers in the rural countryside make for a simple and fascinating portrait of a woman who has power in a world where most women don’t. Having never really encountered the works of Mr. Hardy before, I had no idea what to expect (and also, the summary on the back cover of my edition is REALLY not accurate) but I feel like I have a new favorite. I’m going to hunt down the movie adaptation pronto – apparently Julie Christie is in it?!

nobel“Beloved” by Toni Morrison

Maybe my reading of Ms. Morrison’s works is colored by the fact that, having heard her speak recently, I can hear her voice reading her words.  “Beloved” is a sensational piece of literature – an absolute masterpiece. Ms. Morrison never dumbs anything down, and expects a lot of her readers, and this book is no exception – things aren’t always spelled out clearly, and there’s a lot of things that happen that could be debated – but that’s the magic. Loved it.

Oh, and it won the Nobel Prize for Literature. So there’s that. 😉

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. sweetstuffbybecka

    I remember trying and trying to get through ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’ back when I was a senior in highschool. I’ve always been an avid reader, but for some reason I just couldn’t get into that book and never finished it. After reading your review, I may have to go back and try it again :)

Leave a Reply

