What I’ve been up to.

I haven’t posted in a while, and it’s not because I don’t care.  It’s because I’ve been busy, and June is only going to get busier.  In the meantime, I’m still reading here and there, and thought I’d share a few things…

#1.  “The Dark Tower,” by Stephen King.  I read it, and I liked it. I’m not head over heels in love with it and desperately compelled to continue reading the other books, but I’m curious to see where King takes this series – and if he can manage to finish it in a cool way (my main complaint with him is his utter failure to end things well)

mamaread

Me. Beer. Whitman. Dog. Camping.

#2.  The Portable Walt Whitman.  I took this charming 1960s paperback volume with me on a recent camping trip to Michigan and read a little of it.  Admittedly, being that I was camping I found it hard to read anything, so Whitman and I didn’t last long. The volume is a lovely collection of his works, though, and it’ll live on my shelf probably forever as I feel the need to keep him around for those times I need “Song of Myself.”  Being not a poetry fan, this is a big compliment to Mr. Whitman.

#3.  Lonely Planet’s “New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania” guidebook.  The husband and the child and I are heading off on a road trip in just a few days to explore this region, and so this book has been taking up most of my reading time.  I always appreciate the detail and humor of the Lonely Planet guides, and this one is no exception.  Obviously, NYC gets a huge amount of play in the book, but the rest of the state of New York is spotlighted very well too.  There’s loads of information that I’m learning, and this one’ll be in my suitcase when we take off on our vacation shortly.

So there you have it! Happy Reading, friends!

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on May 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

