“I Was Told There’d Be Cake” by Sloane Crosley

cakeSloane Crosley’s “I Was Told There’d Be Cake” reminds me of a couple of my recent reads – Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” and Tina Fey’s “Bossypants.” Granted, Ms. Crosley is not a TV star/Comedy writer, but like Ms. Kaling and Ms. Fey she writes with vibrant and hilarious honesty about her life experiences, and holds nothing back.

From her parents extreme phobia of open flames to a gathering of friends where Crosley makes a disastrous chocolate tart and discovers that someone has done their business on her bathroom floor (not even joking!!) every word is pure, candid, gold.  Moving Day disasters, Volunteering efforts gone terribly wrong, and being a Jewish girl who attends a Christian summer camp are also special treats as they’re recalled in the voice of someone not afraid to show the less than perfect parts of herself.

Sloane Crosley rocks.

I laughed out loud.

Several times.

I’m going to pass this book on to a friend who I think could use a good laugh right about now.  Conveniently, I’ll be able to drop it off when I return the copy of Mindy Kaling’s book – which he loaned to me in the first place. 😉

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on April 18, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

