“How and Why to teach your kids at home” by Rebecca Rupp, and what I learned about seeking books on homeschooling.

My husband and I are thinking about homeschooling our son when he reaches school age.  At present, he’s seven months old and more interested than pulling himself to standing than a classical education, if you can imagine, so we’ve still got some time to figure it out.

We’re not religious people, so it has nothing to do with that.

We simply think we can probably give him as good, if not better, of an education (and a childhood) than he’d get by being stuffed into a world of standardized testing and stifled curiosity.

(Teachers are the bomb, though.  Please don’t think I’m down on teachers.  Why they make a pittance while athletes and movie stars make boatloads of moolah is an abomination.  The end.)

Being a booknerd, I took to my local library to get some books about homeschooling to learn more.

Here’s a hint:  If you’re homeschooling for non-religious reasons, make sure you’re looking for “secular homeschooling” information.  The first book I checked out and brought home had almost no indication of it’s religious leanings on the front or back cover, but once I opened it I realized it was a collection of essays on why religious people should homeschool their kids.  Which is fine, but it’s not for me.

Of the books I found, Rebecca Rupp’s “Getting Started on Home Learning: How and Why to teach your kids at home” is, in my opinion, the best I’ve read so far.  Rupp, a mom who actually homeschools her three kids, is frank and funny and willing to admit that any idyllic visions she may have once had about teaching her kids at home have gone out the window.  She talks in depth about things like the laws around homeschooling, socialization, and includes parts of her homeschooling journal to give the reader an idea what the day to day life might be like.  She also provides addresses to a bunch of resources for parents considering this path.  It’s a fast and informative read, and Rupp’s voice is one that’s relatable and human.

(I haven’t been reading a lot of books for pleasure lately, but I thought I’d share what I actually am spending my time reading.  I promise this blog won’t become purely parenting books.  Pinky swear.)

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Did I ever tell you I was homeschooled? Like from 2nd grade to the end high school. It’s true. I fully support this idea and if ya’ll want an art teacher give me a call. 🙂

  2. Dude, we need to talk! Henry turns five next month (eep!) so we are into the reality of homeschool. Yep, we decided it was the right choice for us for a while buncha reasons. Funnily enough, I just messaged you…go check!

Leave a Reply

