BookNerd Adventure: Myopic Books

image

(Before I begin, let me say that Myopic has a “no photography” policy.  Somehow, I missed this until after I’d taken a few photographs inside the store.  So, in the interest of honoring their wishes, I’m not posting them.  I think it’s a shame, as the store has a unique style/charm all its own.)

Myopic Books, located in the Wicker Park/Bucktown area of Chicago, is one of those places where you’re probably going to find whatever book you’re on a hunt for.  The four-story used book mecca isn’t fancy, but they’ve got stuff.  Oh Boy, do they have stuff – it’s stacked to the ceiling in places – and it’s all priced really reasonably.  Granted, there are some aisles you’ll have to go down sideways, and the basement looks a little bit like something out of a horror movie, but their smart staff and huge collection is practically untouchable in the Chicagoland area.  In addition, they have a music and poetry series, and they buy books.

On a personal note, I will always heart Myopic.  When I got married in 2010, I decided I wanted stacks of books as part of the centerpieces for the reception.  Myopic was where my male of honor and I went to get said books.  We had a blast shopping around for books,  and got a slew of books for a great price.  The staff that helped us out that day was incredibly friendly and even suggesting places to get dirt cheap paperbacks if we wanted more filler.  I appreciated their energy and their love of books, and still do. (On this last trip, I was looking for a cool copy of “Moby Dick,” and – having struck out at two other used bookstores (I know, right?) Myopic hooked me up with the perfect edition.  Score!)

If you’re looking for something specific, Myopic is one of your best bets to find it.

*Also, because coffee matters to me, in the immediate vicinity there’s a Starbucks, a Red Hen Bakery, a few indie coffee places, and a shiny & fancy new Caribou coffee right down the block.  Caffiene & Books; a perfect combo. *

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ah, Piers Anthony. I haven’t read one of his books since high school.

Leave a Reply

