This BookNerd’s Collection.

Since the weather in old Chicago was spring-like today, I took the opportunity to open the windows and air the place out.  Also in this burst of spring cleaning inspiration, I re-shelved a stack of books that I’d pulled from the shelves of my beloved library – and thought, I should show this off.  I’m proud of my library, as it’s the result of (nearly) thirty years of my being a booknerd.  Also, recently over at his blog, my husband showed off his muy impressive Transformers collection, and I thought I should match him.

(By the way, if you’re looking for a complicated heroine equal to anything you’ll find in literature, her name is Blackarachnia, and she’s my most favorite Transformer.  We’re talking a bad girl who fell in love with a  good guy, switched loyalties to be on the side of the good guys, and then lost her paramour, but not really… It’s the stuff great sweeping novels are born of.  I’m not kidding.  Also, she’s a spider robot who, in some versions, can fly.  Beat that, Brontes.)

Speaking of the Brontes, the cornerstone of my library is my “Jane Eyre” collection, which resides with my other Bronte volumes and the works of Ms. Jane Austen on the shelves in the image below.

image

I have seven editions of “Jane Eyre,” ranging from the adorable Barnes & Noble travel sized-edition, to the Dame Darcy illustrated version, to one that’s in a paperback volume with “Wuthering Heights” and “Agnes Gray.”  (I don’t collect any and every edition I find, just the pretty ones.)

Also notable on his section  is the “everything Christopher Moore has ever written” shelf, which will soon be occupied by his newest release – “Sacre Bleu” – which I’m going to get signed in April when my husband’n’baby’n’I go to Milwaukee for a signing, which I’m over the moon about.  He’s, by far, my favorite living author.

The library consists of two massive red bookcases from the Swedish wonderland known as IKEA.  One is fiction, and the other is devoted to non-fiction/sci-fi/horror.

Below is the other half of my fiction collection, which includes a shelf of literature for young folks, two shelves full of nothing but plays, and a whole shelf devoted to Neil Gaiman and my collection of elephants.  You can barely see it in the photo, but that’s a “Coraline” movie lunchbox.

image

Above the “fiction” shelf are a wonderful Japanese-style vase that was a wedding present from one of our dear friends, a pumpkin basket full of dried flowers I put together for a Halloween party two years ago, and a bust of Nefertiti I’ve had since junior high.

Logically.

image

Moving on to the other shelves, the entire left side of the cabinet below is non-fiction, which encompasses travel and cookbooks as well as biography, history, and general non-fiction.  The right side holds my husband’s comic books, sci-fi, and horror — as well as several wonderful horror-related figurines, such as an adorable Freddy Krueger figure.  You can also clearly see the “Lord of the Rings” Pez dispenser set, which is never going anywhere.

image

On top of these shelves is our board game collection, which we’re quite proud of.  I’m a big fan of “Monopoly,” though it’s not my husband’s favorite.

P.S., If you’ve never played “Dixit” you’re missing out.

image

Below, you can see the view from the library window.  Right behind those buildings is the Sears (Willis, whatever) Tower.

image

Last but not least, there’s a pile of my book-making supplies which I don’t yet have a place for.  So they reside in a pile, easily accessible whenever I get the urge to make a book.

image

I sincerely hope you enjoyed this tour of my booknerdiness.

Have a lovely day!~

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

