“Soup & Bread: Building Community One Pot at a Time” by Martha Bayne

image

Those from Chicago may have heard of “Soup and Bread,” a weekly free dinner at The Hideout Bar, where soup is king and donations go toward good causes like the Greater Chicago Food Depository.  Anything goes as far as soup – folks bring whatever kind of soup they want, and it’s a collective feast of people eating good food for a good cause.

Author/Soup and Bread founder Martha Bayne has compiled a whole bunch of these recipes, along with other soup-tastic tidbits, into “Soup & Bread: Building Community One Pot at a Time.”  There are over sixty soup recipes packed into the book – everything from chili to vegetable soups, contributed by everyone from writers to regular folk.  I was delighted to see that the book contains a recipe for a chili courtesy of Doug Sohn from Chicago’s best hot dog place/encased meat emporium, Hot Doug’s.  (The charred Elvis from Doug’s is one of the best things I have ever eaten in my entire life.  The end.)

Recently, Ms. Bayne swung by FoodEase in the Water Tower Place to sign books and offer soup samples, and I went by.  In addition to a signed copy of the book, I got to sample the Mexican Corn Soup, which was really good.

As is my way, once I got home I had to put the cookbook to the test.  The book features a recipe for “Kewaunee Inn Cheddar Cheese and Beer Soup” contributed by John McKevitt, and – being a fan of beer cheese soup like no one’s business – I made it for dinner last night.  (I used Guinness for the “dark beer,” and I highly recommend you do the same if you’re going to make this soup.)

image

Dude. It was delicious.  And not too difficult to make.  (Also, the recipe makes a ton of soup.)

image

I’ll absolutely be making this soup again.  Total win.

For fans of soup and good social causes, check out Martha Bayne’s book.  It’s full of interesting and delicious-sounding recipes that I can’t wait to try out.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on February 28, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

