I read Banned Books and I cannot lie. (OR, How I’m celebrating Banned Books Week 2011.)

It’s that special week of the year when readers around the world gather together to celebrate their freedom to read whatever they want, whenever they want.  Banned Books Week 2011 kicked off yesterday, September 24th, and though I’m ready to have a baby at any second, I’m still taking part.

Last year, I attended the Newberry Library’s Banned Books Week Read-Out and read Margaret Mitchell’s oft-banned ‘Gone With the Wind.”

This year, I’m reading TWO books.

First, I’ll be reading a challenged classic – Jack London’s “White Fang.” (Download it from Project Gutenberg if you want a free read.)  I know I’ve read this before – in grade school – and for the life of me can’t remember what was so scandalous about it.

Second, I’m reading a biography of Zelda Fitzgerald, wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald – author of one of the most challenged classics of all time – “The Great Gatsby.”

Read something this week.  Make it something you want to read, and are grateful for the freedom to read. And enjoy it.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t remember anything inappropriate in “White Fang”… I’m guessing that Jack London used some politically incorrect terms?

    I think I’m going to celebrate by rereading “The Giver”!

  2. As far as “The Call of the Wild” goes, it seems like maybe violence is the reason for the challenge? It’s a pretty gory book as the dogs fight for life and superiority.

    AW. I loved “The Giver.”

Leave a Reply

