Keira Knightley & Jude Law to star in Tom Stoppard-penned “Anna Karenina” film

According to an announcement by Focus Features, Keira Knightley and Jude Law will star in an upcoming film adaptation of “Anna Karenina,” with a screenplay penned by Tom Stoppard.  Directed by Joe Wright (who’s previously directed Ms. Knightley in the film adaptations of “Pride & Prejudice” and “Atonement”) the movie is slated to hit screens in the second half of 2012.

Several actresses – including Greta Garbo, Vivien Leigh, and even Marlene Dietrich (in a radio broadcast) – have taken on role of Anna, though Ms. Knightley certainly knows her way around an adaptation.  She’s likely to be great in the role.  And hey – Jude Law is awesome.   (I love “Sherlock Holmes” way more than I expected to.)

I’m perhaps most excited about this news because of the involvement of Tom Stoppard.  Now, I’ll be the first to admit that “Anna Karenina” is a book that makes me crazy.  I’ve been trying to read it for  years and can’t get through it (though I did get through “Android Karenina,” which I tremendously enjoyed.) Perhaps a modern writer with Mr. Stoppard’s sensibilities will be able to streamline this beast of a book and make it into a cohesive movie.

I’m excited.  I approve.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am looking forward to seeing this movie. I trust Joe Wright.

Leave a Reply

