“The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” on film (Swedish version)

Steig Larsson’s “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” was a compelling read, so I was curious to see how it would adapt to the screen.  I’m aware that there’s a fancy American version (starring Daniel Craig) about to hit screens, but I was more interested in the original film version – produced in Sweden, Mr. Larsson’s homeland.

If you’re expecting this film to be a play-by-play of the book, you’ll be disappointed.  Quite a bit has changed;  Namely, the fact that Blomkvist no longer begins  a relationship with Cecelia Vanger, and the film ignores almost all references to Erika.  She’s there, but she’s just a lady who works at Millennium.  Also, I’d guess ten or more characters were simply removed or not mentioned.

Do you want to know what I liked most about the movie?

The changes.  Strangely enough.

The adapters of this screenplay realized that there are too many characters and too much going on in Stieg Larsson’s novel for it to make sense on a movie screen, and wisely they streamlined the characters, events, and action.  All of this totally makes it work.

Noomi Rapace landed the awesome role of Lisbeth, and is astonishing. She looks the part, and has clearly done her homework.  When the American film version comes out shortly,  it’ll be interesting to see if America’s Lisbeth can live up to the ENORMOUS shoes she has to fill.  Much like the novel, Lisbeth is the best thing about the movie.  Michael Nyqvist plays Blomkvist, and he’s perfectly fine in the role.  (I found the character pretty dull in the novel, and he’s pretty dull onscreen, so it all lines up.)

The movie (and the two sequels) stream on Netflix if you’re interested in watching them.  I enjoyed the first movie, but much like the second book lost me and I didn’t read the third, I probably won’t watch the other movies.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aaron and I saw all three films and while the other two are good the first is by far the best. Seriously, one of the best movie mysteries I’ve seen in a long time. And as much as I loved it, I don’t think I can ever watch it again. SPOILER: The rape scene (and the scenes echoing the rape) had knots in my stomach for DAYS after wards.

Leave a Reply

