Mommy Dearest – “The Modern Girl’s Guide to Motherhood” by Jane Buckingham with Jen Furmaniak

In case you hadn’t heard, I’m about to become a Mom for the first time.

Of course, I’m turning to books for a great deal of information.  Obviously, there’s a copy of “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” on my nightstand, and I’ve been picking up interesting pregnancy/parenting books as they catch my attention.

“The Modern Girl’s Guide to Motherhood” is a basic encyclopedia of everything you didn’t know you needed to know about becoming a Mom.

And it’s horrifying.  The end.

Apparently, I’m not going to get 8 hours of sleep for the next few years of my life.  Spectacular.  (When that time comes, dear readers, forgive me if I stop being coherent and slack even more when it comes to using the spell check.)

I finished reading this immediately after reading Stephen King’s ”Salem’s Lot” and have to admit – this was scarier.  From the amount of things you need to buy to the amount of things you’re just supposed to know, Motherhood (at least for a pregnant lady) is an incredibly overwhelming concept.  I’m fully aware that in 4 months my pregnancy will end and I’ll be responsible for a living, breathing, puking, burping, pooping person.

Jane Buckingham has obviously been there, and hands down her advice with a no-nonsense attitude.  The book is full of lists such as “Things you NEED before the baby arrives,”  “Things it’s NICE to have before the baby arrives,” and “Things Not Necessary to have before baby arrives.”  She’s also got pages devoted to Mommy’s post-delivery recovery, breaking bad habits, teaching manners, breast-feeding, and even addresses a few pages to introducing your new baby to your pets.  Buckingham is funny – even snarky – about many aspects of this life-changing process, and even includes a few tips that, though she’d never tried and doesn’t know anyone who has, are recommended by experts – so hey, maybe they’ll work for you.

All in all, I’d buy this as a gift for the next mommy-to-be of my friends.

And now I have to go make lists, thank you very much.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. oh dear!!! it’s not that bad really, you will get sleep, i promise!

Leave a Reply

