Funny & Pregnant – “Belly Laughs” by Jenny McCarthy

Or, the blog entry in which I reveal to all y’all that I’m totally pregnant.

True.

I’m going to have a baby – which means a lot of changes.  Most notably around here, however, is the fact that a baby book or twelve is likely to pop up on these pages. So don’t be surprised – when I need to know stuff, I turn to books – but I’ll try to keep them interesting, and from taking over the place.

Now, on to “Belly Laughs” by Jenny McCarthy.

Jenny McCarthy is funny.  Seriously.  The lady I remember best as “that chick from Singled Out who dated Jim Carrey” turns out to be a bluntly funny writer, and apparently is now the go-to girl for pregnancy and mommy advice. (Also, as the mother of a child with autism, McCarthy has become a proud activist looking for treatment and cures.)

That said, “Belly Laughs” is the hilarious bestselling memoir of her pregnancy.  Rather than weave chapters of the hopes and dreams she has for her baby, McCarthy instead gives you the inside scoop on all the ugly, scary, and freaky bits of pregnancy. Instead of being a celebrity, she comes off as wonderfully self-deprecating and down to earth as she recounts being sweaty and feeling like she was going to hurl while doing her grocery shopping, and her weight gain during pregnancy.

As someone about to become a Mom, I can’t say enough about how wonderful and comforting reading this book is.  People want to tell you nothing but how exciting it all is, but in reality being a pregnant lady who has to function in the world isn’t that easy.  Being tired and nauseous for twelve weeks is no one’s idea of a good time, and it’s nice to hear that I’m not alone.  I’m also not alone in my mood swings, food cravings, irrational fears, and the sometimes disgusting things my mind is wandering to and wondering about. (I won’t discuss here the chapter McCarthy writes about the other bodily functions that occur during labor, but… it’s eye-opening.)

While reading this book, I read many selections out loud to my husband – who laughed right along with me.

For Moms-to-be, or Moms-who-want-to-recall, I’d suggest “Belly Laughs.”  The title doesn’t lie.

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congratulations! You are about to embark on the best journey of your life!

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and I have to say I loved your February Romance Novel posts!! Those books always scare me and now there are a few I’v added to my to read list!!

Leave a Reply

