Smut Ahoy, Matey! – “Pleasuring the Pirate” by Emily Bryan

As far as titles go, it doesn’t get much better than “Pleasuring the Pirate,” does it?

The very moment I found out this book was a real, true thing, I knew it needed to be included in this month of romance novels.

So it’s with great happiness that I can tell you, the book doesn’t disappoint.  Emily Bryan knows what’s up and never lets a dull line pass her pages.

The story shares a lot of similarities with a few titles already reviewed here.  We’ve got a nice girl who needs to tame a wild man so he fits into society, but in turn he ignites her innermost fires.  There are traces of “Some Like it Wild” and “Wild,” but “Pleasuring the Pirate” is it’s own tale with it’s own vividly drawn characters.

Jacquelyn Wren came to the castle of Dragon Caern to be it’s governess, but wound up becoming practically the master of the house after Lord Drake’s death.  When a Pirate named Gabriel Drake appears, and turns out to be the long-lost son of Lord Drake, it falls to Jacquelyn to get him up to speed on manners so he can marry a wealthy lady and save the castle for all it’s inhabitants.

There’s a problem, though.  You guessed it – Jacquelyn and Gabriel have had the hots for each other since their first encounter (when she, dressed as a boy, was defending the castle from this new lord who everyone assumed had come to take the castle) and their passion can’t be tamed.  Jacquelyn is a good girl, and a virgin, but she’s soon swayed by Gabriel and things heat up.

I won’t spoil the ending, but the book is actually very charming and fast-paced.  It’s a little weak on plot, but then again – with steam like this, who needs it?  Jacquelyn and Gabriel are solid characters, and the book gets a thumbs up from me.

SuchaBookNerd Smut Index: This one gets a 9 – as there are a couple of truly dirty moments in the book, and Jacquelyn (though innocent) doesn’t take long to get into the swing of things. 😉

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Megan Bacalao Virkler

    As a not-so-secret fan of Nora Roberts and her alter-ego J.D. Robb, I am loving this month of romance! This one might have to hit the Kindle list 😉

    Currently embroiled in the “In Death” series…good stuff!

    • See, I have a Nora Roberts book coming up – but it didn’t impress me. I’m assuming I just maybe picked one of her lesser works. Do you have any recommendations?

  2. Megan Bacalao Virkler

    Which one did you read? I have to say I have a fondness for the trilogies she does (“The Garden Trilogy,” “The Key Trilogy”) but I enjoy the stand-alone books too. They are incredibly formulaic, for sure, but some stand above the others.

  3. I read “Spellbound” and really found it dull – and a little confusing. (I think that review is coming next week.) If you had to pick one stand-alone Nora Roberts book, which would you choose? 🙂

  4. Megan Bacalao Virkler

    Aw, man (as Henry the three-year-old would say), that would definitely be one of her worst, in my opinion. NR books fall into several unoffocial categories: the stand-alone Silhouette books (“Spellbound,” “Unfinished Business” and are very short and not as good), the connected Sihouette books (“Loving Jack,” “Best Laid Plans,” which have characters that appear in both books, usually taking one minor character from the first book and making them a major character in the second, usually a best friend or a sibling), the opposite books (“Brazen Virtue,” “Hot Ice” which always involve a mystery with the romance and are pulp paperback length), as well as the more standard mystery/crime/romance pulp paperbacks (“Montana Sky,” “Three Fates”), the series (The Stanivlaskys, Irish Dreams), and the trilogys (The Key Trilogy, the Garden Trilogy).

    I warned you, I’m a series NR dork! I’ve always loved her but when I got pregnant with Henry, my insane hormones made it impossible to read anything that had any hint of sadness or loss or grief. Enter: Nora! I read almost nothing but her for months! And it worked: no tears over fiction were spilled.

    Anyway, if you want a recommendation from the stand-alone Silhouette years as these are the most straight “romance” of her canon, I would go with “Partners.” It’s not a favorite of mine overall because her stand-alone Silhouette books tend to be my least favorite…I read them when I’d read all the others recently (yep, I re-read these) and *needed* a book to read (usually when on lunch break at work and having forgotten something to read!).

    I have recommendations from the other categories too but have taken up WAY too much blog space already.

    Honestly, I was a literature major and LOVE all fiction. 😉 Some of my profs are shuddering right now, hahahah!

  5. Megan Bacalao Virkler

    Oh, and my recommendation above is based on what I just searched out on my shelf so only on the books I *own* not on ones I’ve read from the library 😉

Leave a Reply

