My 2011 (Literary) Resolutions

Usually, I kick off a new year with some champagne (which I did) and some resolutions about eating better and going to the gym more (which I will.)

However, this year I’ve also made a list of literary resolutions, and I thought I’d share.

1.  I will visit the Ernest Hemingway Museum in Oak Park, IL.

2. I will visit the Madeleine L’Engle Collections at Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL.

3.  I will attend at least ONE author or literary event a month.

4.  I will do more of my book shopping at Independent Bookstores.  Since Chicago is so rich in indie shops,  I should really take advantage of these little gems.

5. I will read Upton Sinclair’s “The Jungle.” (I mean, since I live in Chicago and have never actually read it.)

There. I feel like 5 goals is attainable and should actually be pretty easy.

Let’s see how I do.

Happy 2011, Everyone!

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on January 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would love to do #1 and/or #2 with you!

    Also, after you read the Jungle, if you’re dying for the “real” story, check out “Work and Community in the Jungle: Chicago’s Packinghouse Workers, 1894-1922” by my former professor, James R. Barrett

    http://www.press.uillinois.edu/books/catalog/68xqs8kr9780252061363.html

    xo

Leave a Reply

