What are you reading? (Betsy M., Chicago, IL)

[For the week of November 18, 2010:  Betsy M., Chicago, IL]

Betsy M., What are you reading?

Generally speaking, I am always reading either a novel or a narrative non-fiction and then researching whatever my topic dujour is.  So hold onto your shorts.  I am reading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, If You’re Clueless About the Stock Market and Want to Know More by Seth Godin, and several books on classic cocktails.

What made you pick it up?

Well, firstly with Outlander, it’s a Scottish tale and my Mom’s side of the family is heavily Scottish so I thought it might be a fun read.  The stock market book because I work at the Chicago Board Options Exchange and people speak in acronyms around here.  It was driving me crazy not knowing what some of them mean.  Admittedly, the book was written in 2001 so it could use some updates, still thus far it has helped.  I learned about the OTC market (Over the counter) right before someone told me to put something about it in a spreadsheet, so bingo.  Also, as someone with more than one 401K and some shares in a company, I figured I might as well get a general idea about investing.  (For those who balk at this idea, it can actually be kind of a fun topic and for those of us in our 20’s and 30’s, it’s a really great idea to learn about now and invest.  We’ve got time, y’all.)  The classic cocktail books because frankly I love drinking good liquor.  Much more so than wine or beer.  Cocktails are way more glamorous, more fun, taste better and have fantastic names.  Perhaps a Rob Roy would go with my reading of Outlander.  (BTW, Potter fans…I just found a drink called a Mud and Blood.)

What was the last thing you read?

The last thing I read was Speaks the Nightbird by Robert McCammon.  (I’ve also put down The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield…just wasn’t getting into it.)  Before that was Nina Garcia’s Lookbook, a book designed to help you hone your personal style but ends up being a book about how to dress like Nina Garcia.  That said, I can’t resist any book with illustrations by Ruben Toledo.  Bombshell Manual, anyone?  He’s a genius.  I also read Sardi’s Bar Guide by Vincent Sardi (of the famed Broadway restaurant…a book that combines two of my loves) and The Essential Cocktail by Dale DeGroff.  HIGHLY recommended.

[If you’d like to be featured on “What are you reading?” shoot me an email.]

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on November 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the Outlander series. Glad I’m not the only one…

Leave a Reply

