What are you reading? (Margo G., Chicago, IL)

[For the week of 11/11/11 – Margo G., Chicago, IL]

Note: The Lovely Miss Margo is a director in Chicago. Her current project, “Dream of a Common Language” is playing at the Oracle Theatre until November 18th.  Recently, Margo and some members of the Prologue Theatre Company (of which she is Artistic Director) participated in the GreyZelda Theatre Group’s Ubergarden Fundraise, where I was also in attendance.  The below is a heeeee-larious video I figured you might enjoy. Watch us all create some art, on the spot!

Margo, What are you reading? 

Currently I’m reading The Man Who was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton. Originally written in 1908, it’s a thrilling, satirical, and thoroughly hilarious spy mystery-caper. Kinda. I do love good old-fashioned British style, which I need hardly say I find creeping into my speech or writing after reading a chapter or two.

What made you pick it up?
Last winter I saw a stellar stage production of a new adaptation of the book, and that’s when I procured a copy. However, like so many of my good intentions, it found itself on the shelf, neglected. Then, last month, I attended a staged reading revival of the production, remembered how perfectly delightful it was, and took up the book again. I love seeing the source material for an adaption to get a peek at the structure of things; in this particular instance, it’s giving me a further appreciation of both the book and the play.

What was the last thing you read?
I was re-reading Adrienne Rich’s book of poems, The Dream of a Common Language. I read it for the first time a few months ago, before going into rehearsals for the play Dream of a Common Language. I wanted to come back to it with a different perspective after working on the show. It’s a really great collection, and on this revisiting I picked up several more references from it that Heather McDonald incorporated into the play. For example, McDonald takes a line verbatim from the poem Paula Becker to Clara Westhoff, which is an imagined letter written from one (real, historical) female artist to another at the turn of the Twentieth Century. A lot of the themes of the poem resonate directly with the themes of the play. I definitely got a lot out of the re-reading!

 

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on November 11, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

