What are you reading? (Amanda B., Chicago, IL)

[For the week of November 4th, 2010: Amanda B., Chicago, IL]

Amanda B., What are you reading?

Well, currently I am juggling a multitude of books. Since, I am still a college student I have the annoying task of reading many books simultaneously and more likely than not these are books that I don’t enjoy. At present I am reading Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland for my Costume Design class. Originally, I was horrified at the idea of reading this classic text. I was terrified that it would be dull and deadly like that of Henry James, who I still can’t muster enough interest in to power through.  I was, however, pleasantly surprised by Alice in Wonderland. Carroll is delightful and I am speeding through the novel. (I also can’t wait to design the costumes!)

As for my other classes- there is only one other  that I care to mention- it is my Dramatic Lit IV class. And yes, if you haven’t guessed by now-I am a theatre major. In Dramatic Lit IV we read one play per class. Some are lovely while others are dreadful. This past Tuesday we read Ruined by Lynn Nottage which won a Pulitzer Prize in2009. All I want to say about this book is that it should win a Pulizter Prize for its content about “ruined” women in the Congo.  It is masterfully crafted and I’m sure really engaging on stage. My favorite play that I have read in this class is The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh. It is a satirical play about a terrorist in Ireland who’s greatest love is his cat, Wee Thomas.  It is not for the faint of heart, but it is for people who love cats and can handle some gore. The prop list alone is hysterical including dismembered limbs, live orange cat, and so on.

My pleasure book that I am reading (when I’m not reading your blog, of course) is a memoir by Jason Mulgrew titled Everything is Wrong With Me. Jason Mulgrew originally had a blog called “Everything is wrong with me: 30, Bipolar and hungry.” It was so popular that he was asked to write a book, which he did masterfully. Apparently now, he doesn’t have a blog but a fancy official website: jasonmulgrew.com (fancy).The book is witty and quick. It is an easy read and has me giggling to myself. There are also fabulous humiliating pictures. I recommend it to all.

Why did you pick it up?

The first few books I am reading for class the latter I picked up because first and foremost, I love memoirs. Secondly, I have recently found out that I’m bipolar. So I thought- hey, I might as well read about all those other wonderful bipolar people.  Surprisingly there are quite a few bipolar people and a few of them have written some great books.

What was the last thing you read?

Going along the theme of bipolar memoirs the last book I read was Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking recommended by you, Miss Jamie. It was a grand time and I read it in one afternoon. I now have a lot of respect for this Star Wars heroine and can’t wait to see her do her one-act when she comes to town!  …………..(So, did I beat Leonardo?)

[If you’d like to be featured on “What are you reading?” shoot me at email at ‘mail at suchabooknerd dot com.’]

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

