What are you reading? (Robert B., Chicago, IL)

[For the week of October 28, 2010 – Robert B., Chicago, IL]

*In addition to being the man behind what I consider to be the best darn theater blog in all the interwebs, Bob is one of my all-time favorite people.  We met in high school (doing a production of “Arsenic and Old Lace,” if you must know.) He may have also been the male of honor at my wedding.  No joke.  Bob is made of win.*

What are you reading?

I have a HUGE stack of books (and a few National Enquirers — don’t
judge!) on my bedside stand that I pick through. But the one I keep
gravitating toward is “Dorothy Parker: What Fresh Hell Is This?” by
Marion Meade. She’s a fascinating and complex woman, that Ms. Parker,
and Meade has done her homework researching her life. She really was
an unhappy woman!

What made you pick it up?

My mom recommended it, and gave it to me. Forced it upon me, if
youwill. She thought it might appeal to my wry sensitiblies.

What was the last thing you read?

That would be Room by Emma Donoghue — recommended by YOU, miss Such a
Book Nerd! Loved it, and have recommended it to many others.

Whats the scariest book you’ve ever read?

Hmm! Off the top of my head, that would be “Patti LuPone: A Memoir.”
Especially the chapter where she eats newborns and decapitates a
stagehand with a baseball bat after learning she’d been fired from
“Sunset Boulevard.” A nail biter, from cover to cover!

[Gratuitous Patti. In the Broadway production of “Sweeney Todd.” Which is totally based on a book. So there, it’s relevant.]

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

