Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Interview Swap!

This week is Book Blogger Appreciaton Week. 

As I’m new to being an “official” book-blogger, and not just a blogger of all things, often including books, I decided to take part in this fun week of events.

Part of BBAW is an interview-swap.

I was fortunate to get to swap interviews with Ms. Jennifer from Jenn’s Bookshelves.
(You should check out her lovely and well-written blog, seriously.)

Q:  Whats the first book memory you have?

A: My mother reading some of the Golden Book Classics to me. I still own them and read them to my children.  My mom worked full time and often didn’t have a lot of time to read to me. So, she recorded herself on tape, reading a book to me. I wish I’d kept some of those tapes! It’s possible they exist, buried in a box somewhere.

Q:  Favorite book of all time/Least favorite book of all time?

A:  Yikes! There is no way I could mention just one favorite! I love all of Stephen King’s early works. He introduced me to the world of horror fiction and I’ve been a fan since. A few of my favorite classics include Jane Eyre and East of Eden.  I read Jane Eyre in high school, and when I reread it years later I realized I didn’t appreciate what an amazing book it was.  I read East of Eden with my book club.  I absorbed it, I relished in Steinbeck’s writing.

I don’t have a least favorite book per se. If I don’t like a book, I either don’t read it, or stop reading it!

Q: Whats your guilty pleasure book?

A: Again, I don’t think there is just one book, but several. I recently discovered Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series. It’s not Pulitzer prize winning writing, but I love it.  I’m also a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, specifically on audiobook.  I can’t get enough of Claire and Jamie!

Q: What book do you think needs to be made into a movie?

A: I would love to see THE PASSAGE made into a movie. Another series of books, which ultimately will be made into movies, is Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan’s The Strain series.

Q: What book are you most looking forward to?

A: Several! The first is the second in Del Toro’s Strain series, The Fall, which releases later this month. I’m actually reading it now.  I simply love it!  I’m a fan of Lee Child’s Reacher series. I just finished listening to 61 Hours and I can’t wait for the newest, Worth Dying For.  I literally could go on and on!

🙂 This was a lot of fun, and next year I will definitely take part again!

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad that Jenn interviewed you (I’ll go back and read your interview with her again in a minute, ’cause I adore her), because I am also in the Chicago area (Northwest suburbs) and I *love* finding new Chicago bloggers. So, hi!

  2. Jen-
    I was just about to email you, asking if you knew Jamie! Yay! I hope you two can get together!

  3. Jenn is a wonderful blogger – I love the story of her mom recording books for her.

  4. I really want to re-read Jane Eyre — it has been ages since I read that one. I wonder what my take on it the second time around would be.

Leave a Reply

