What are you reading? (Patrick B., Chicago, IL)

[Each Thursday, I will profile a book-nerd in this feature called “What are you reading?” If you’d like to take part, shoot me an email at mail@suchabooknerd.com. The more the merrier!]

For the week of September 9, 2010: Patrick B., Chicago, IL

Patrick B., what are you reading?

I am currently reading Freedom by Jonathan Franzen.

What made you decide to read it?
After reading Franzen’s last book The Corrections, I knew that I had found an author whose writing style and vivid descriptions really resonated with me. I was very excited to read his next book and agreed with much of the praise that it received. However, I had no idea that I would have to wait nine years for his next book! I am really drawn to his method of literary realism in his books, specifically the development of his Midwestern characters; they seem like people that I would know and their family relationships are somewhat similar to the experiences that many readers have encountered and I think that’s what keeps me and other readers interested in his work. In Freedom, I am still getting that same fun experience where these seemingly uninteresting people, going about their very ordinary lives, are showing me that life in general is pretty extraordinary.

What was the last thing you read?
The last book that I read was The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, the last of the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson. I began the series with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo while on vacation and did not expect to be that impressed since it seemed to me to be the “pop” book choice of the season and it did not appear to fit the normal genre of works that I enjoy. I have to admit that I was completely blown away by the complexity and interwoven characters and plots that Larsson was able to bring together. These books are very enjoyable and I am sorry that I won’t be able to enjoy the seven other works that Larsson had planned to write in this series before his death.

(Thanks, Patrick! Another reader will be featured next Thursday!)
About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a well-spoken, good-looking young man. 😉

Leave a Reply

