September is Library Card Sign-Up Month (and today is International Literacy Day)

Today is International Literacy Day, and I was unaware of it until I received an email from my husband a short while ago.

For a million obvious reasons, Literacy is one of my pet causes.  Far too many people in the world suffer from an inability to read and comprehend what they’re reading.  Imagine making your way through the world without knowing what the words on the street signs said.  You certainly wouldn’t be reading books, or blogs.  Imagine your daily life without your favorite book, or the ability to read your favorite blog. (I would be utterly lost without jezebel.)

The good people over at Twitter have set up a site where you can help out in a couple of fast and easy ways.  You can purchase a bottle of wine and have the proceeds go to charity, or you can make a donation to help publish a children’s book.

In addition, September is Library Card sign-up month.

Tell me you all have library cards. I treasure mine, as Chicago’s library system absolutely rocks.

Here’s a piece I found interesting (and a little heart-breaking) from the press release:

“Held every September, Library Card Sign-up Month is a time when the American Library Association (ALA) and libraries around the country work to remind parents that a library card is the most important school supply of all. Every day librarians and library staff are at work in the literacy trenches, bringing books and effective programs directly into the lives of children, parents, grandparents, childcare providers and educators.  In addition to it being Library Card Sign-up Month, Sept. 8 marks International Literacy Day. Created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), International Literacy Day is a time   focus attention on worldwide literacy needs.  Statistics show the impact of reading on the quality of life. Low literacy is linked to poverty, crime, dependence on government assistance and poor health. And research has shown that parents who struggle with reading pass this legacy on to their children.  According to UNESCO more than 780 million of the world’s adults (nearly two-thirds of whom are women) do not know how to read or write, and between 94 and 115 million children lack access to education.”

So, if you feel like it, buy a bottle of wine. It’s for a seriously good cause.

(And if you don’t have one — Get a library card!)

About JamieP

Books. Adventures. Chicago. Married. Mommy. Cat.

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love this! I actually have TWO library cards. One for Chicago and one for the entire suburban system. It is amazing. Libraries are so important, especially in a time when so many people are out of work. Free Books People!

  2. Great post! I didn’t know this was library card sign-up month. I’ve had mine since 2nd grade, which was when the whole class trooped down to the local branch en masse to get them.

    I’m also very proud to have one for the New York Public Library. I was at the Performing Arts Library during one of my trips to the city and wanted to use a computer. I was told I’d have to get a card, which I was more than happy to do! You can never have enough library cards, IMHO.

    • Hi Esther! I’m so jealous of your NYC library card – I’ll have to get one next time I’m there, purely for the bragging rights. 🙂

      (I can’t imagine not having a library card, as (thanks to my Mom) I’ve just always had one. When I moved to Chicago, it was one of the first things I did.)

Leave a Reply

